Forum Index > Suggestion Box > Wild Wendigo Morkko
Page 1 1, 2 Go to Page:
Author Thread Post
Dragonclaws59
Level 75
The Kind-Hearted
Threads: 17
Posted: 3/11/2022 at 9:39 PM Post #1
Hello, I started playing Sylestia awhile ago and only recently starting again, and I love the game greatly. However, I do believe that the Themed "Wild Wendigo Morkko"'s, should be changed.

It seemed to be based upon the deer version created by the movie Wendigo (2001), and shows up in no actual myth of the telling of these creatures from Natives, but was simply a creation of the directors who gave it the name, only knowing that Wendigo's where scary creatures, and has directly been the cause for this.
Not only this, but the creature is very symbolic and holds a lot of value and lessons, and putting a misrepresentation of it in a video game, for no other reason then aesthetic, seems very unfair as well as further spreads an essentially white washed creature to be true, washing away native culture.
I'm sure the original idea had no malicious intent with there design, and I'd probably believe they would think of the creature as the one with horns, I'm sure a lot of Sylestia as well doesn't know that the horned wendigo is incorrect, that is why I feel that it should be brought up, and can be a good learning experience for us all.
The design is very nice, I quite like it myself, but I believe that at least the name must be changed, and that this cannot be ignored.

I will link a good article and a pbs video that goes into good depth to explain the actual lore and characterization of the creature, thank you for your time

https://www.thecanadianencyclopedia.ca/en/article/windigo#:~:text=A%20windigo%20is%20a%20supernatural,of%20their%20greed%20or%20weakness.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=guiuXIMZ2vE&ab_channel=Storied
Dragonclaws59
Level 75
The Kind-Hearted
Threads: 17
Posted: 3/11/2022 at 10:10 PM Post #2